Petre and Elena Macca's legacy Cover Image

Moştenirea familiei Macca
Petre and Elena Macca's legacy

Author(s): Sidonia Teodorescu, Cosmin Bloju
Subject(s): Societal Essay
Published by: Editura Mega Print SRL
Keywords: Petre and Elena Macca; the church and the Arts and Crafts School in Miroşi; Ion D. Berindey; Costin Petrescu; Thoma Kanzler;

Summary/Abstract: Boyar foundation in the south of Argeş County, the church of Miroşi village was raised by Elena Macca in 1908 in the memory of Colonel Petre Macca and was consecrated in 1909. The furniture’s drawings preserved in the Ion D. Berindey archives of the National Museum of Art of Romania certify that it was designed by the architect Ion D. Berindey (1871–1928), nephew of Elena Macca. The contractor of the church was Thoma Kanzler and it was painted by Costin Petrescu. Elena Macca (1842–1912) remained in the consciousness of Miroşi residents as their benefactress. Her heritage was left to the Ministry of Religious Affairs and Education, which had a great contribution to the cultural development of the village, as it resulted in the construction of a primary school in Miroşi in 1906 and of the „Elena Colonel P. Macca” Arts and Crafts Elementary School, built in 1913–1914, on a site near the old Macca manor. These buildings are nowadays in a high state of decay.

  • Issue Year: 7/2014
  • Issue No: 7
  • Page Range: 373-385
  • Page Count: 13
  • Language: Romanian