Five Stages of Grief in Horace’s Ode I 24 Cover Image

Pięć stadiów żałoby w odzie I 24 Horacego
Five Stages of Grief in Horace’s Ode I 24

Author(s): Joanna Pypłacz
Subject(s): Language and Literature Studies
Published by: Biblioteka Jagiellońska
Keywords: Horace;Quintilius Varus;Virgil;Ode 1.24;the five stages of grief;psychology;

Summary/Abstract: Long before modern psychologists classified and explained the five stages of grief, the Roman poet Horace gave an instuitive portrayal of these stages in his Ode 1 24, which was written after the death of his friend Quintilius Varus. In this poem, Horace with great accuracy describes the consecutive phases of grief, which are nowadays defined as depression, denial, bargaining, anger and acceptance.

  • Issue Year: 2016
  • Issue No: 66
  • Page Range: 215-222
  • Page Count: 8
  • Language: Polish