Natural Sciences and Math in a Reformed University Cover Image

Prirodne i matematičke nauke u reformisanom univerzitetu
Natural Sciences and Math in a Reformed University

Author(s): Milka Maksimović, Rifat Škrijelj, Hasan Jamak, Kenan Suruliz, Muriz Spahić
Subject(s): Social Sciences
Published by: Univerzitet u Sarajevu

Summary/Abstract: The Faculty of Science is an institution with the highest rank in education and research in natural sciences and mathematics in Bosnia and Herzegovina. The Department of Natural Sciences was founded in 1950 as a part the Faculty of Philosophy, and as an independent higher education institution, the Faculty of Science, was formed by the act of the Parliament of Bosnia and Herzegovina in December 1st, 1960. The Faculty of Science was organized in five departments: Biology, Chemistry, Geography, Mathematics and Physics. Since its establishment, the Faculty of Science remains the highest scientific and educational institution where fundamental natural sciences and mathematics have been taught. These sciences represent, in the first place, a foundation for education in school system as well as a basis for numerous other scientific fields in which natural sciences and mathematics participate and therefore the foundation for the whole academic community. Natural sciences and mathematics are pure sciences and without them it would not be possible to develop others, applied sciences. They are contemporary sciences dealing with various aspects of environmental changes – they are driving forces for development of the society as a whole. Gaining skills and knowledge on natural phenomena and processes in the environment, finding the rules and laws in nature and the whole universe is one of the highest achievements of human cognition. Natural sciences and mathematics are both pure and applied sciences at the same time. Applicability of natural sciences and mathematics has been emphasized through implementation of Bologna principles. Introducing this new concept of educational and research process, all departments of the Faculty of Science have innovated and adjusted existing syllabi and curricula in accordance to these new principles, and, in addition to already existing, they have introduced new, modern and applicative study groups. Study groups at the Department of Biology: Teaching Biology, Biochemistry and Physiology, Ecology, Genetics, Microbiology. Study groups at the Department of Physics: Teaching Physics (3 years), Teaching in Physics- Informatics (3 years), Teaching in Physics-Mathematics (3 years), General study group (4 years): Physics in Education, Theoretical Physics, Experimental Physics, Radiation Physics in Medicine. Study groups at the Department of Chemistry: Teaching Chemistry, General Study in Chemistry. Study groups at the Department of Geography: Regional and Physical Planning, Tourism and Environment Protection Study groups at the Department of Mathematics: General (Theoretical) study, Applied Mathematics, Teaching in Mathematics, Teaching in Mathematics and Informatics, Theoretical Computer Science

  • Issue Year: 2009
  • Issue No: 03
  • Page Range: 367-373
  • Page Count: 7
  • Language: Bosnian