Obituary of St. Augustine’s Canon Regulars’ Monastery in Kraśnik Cover Image

Nekrolog klasztoru kanoników regularnych św. Augustyna w Kraśniku
Obituary of St. Augustine’s Canon Regulars’ Monastery in Kraśnik

Author(s): Ewa Zielińska
Subject(s): History
Published by: Lubelskie Towarzystwo Genealogiczne
Keywords: monastery of St. Augustine’s; obituary; Kraśnik; Jan of Rabsztyn;

Summary/Abstract: The monastery of St. Augustine’s canon regulars in Kraśnik was founded by Jan of Rabsztyn in the years 1468-1469 and existed until its dissolution in the year 1864. It was a branch of the convent active from the year 1405 in Kazimierz near Kraków. An important source which enables learning about the history of the monastery in Kraśnik in the period from 15th-17th c. is an obituary which was being kept there. It is contained in a medieval manuscript including monastic normative texts, such as monastic statutes and a commentary to the rule of St. Augustine. Nowadays it is stored in the Main Library of Maria Curie-Skłodowska University in Lublin (catalogue number III 608). The obituary had been written from the beginning of 16th century and was kept until the year 1627. It includes the entries concerning the deaths of 55 canons from the monastery in Kraśnik and of 6 canons from the monastery in Kazimierz. The entries allow to establish a list of superiors (praepositi) of the Kraśnik monastery and reconstruct its personal composition from the beginning of the second quarter of the 17th c. They also tell a lot about the character of the memory of the dead cultivated in this society.

  • Issue Year: 2010
  • Issue No: 2
  • Page Range: 79-125
  • Page Count: 47
  • Language: Polish