Greek Inscription from the St Paraskeve Church (St Petka the Old, Zoodohos Pigi) in Plovdiv Cover Image
  • Price 2.00 €

Гръцки надписи от църквата „Св. Параскева” („Св. Петка стара”, „Живоносен източник”) в Пловдив
Greek Inscription from the St Paraskeve Church (St Petka the Old, Zoodohos Pigi) in Plovdiv

Author(s): Alexandra Triphonova
Subject(s): Christian Theology and Religion, History, Fine Arts / Performing Arts, Cultural history, Photography, Architecture
Published by: Институт за изследване на изкуствата, Българска академия на науките

Summary/Abstract: In this paper eight greek inscriptions of the St Parasceve (St Petka The Old, Zoodohos Pigi) church in Plovdiv (Philipoppolis) (1836) are discussed. They date back to the ΧVIII – last quarter of the ΧΙΧ c. and give valubale information about historical persons, which include a metropolitan, donors, painters, members of a craft guild and deceased persons. The ecclesiastical circle is presented by a Metropolitan of Philippopolis, named Chrysanthos of Lesbos (Mytilene) (1850-1857), who ordered and paid for the painting of the icon St Three Hierarchs (1853). Among the donnors, whо date back the second and the last quarter of the ΧΙΧ c., there are mentioned Athanassios Georgiou, who gave money for the icon Synaxis of the Archangels (1825), the Greek Community of Philippopolis, which sponsored the building of the chucrh of St Parasceve (St Petka The Old, Zooohos Pigi) (1836), the memebres of the tinker’s quild and their families, who assistanced the painting of the icon St Spyridon with four life scenes (1856), and Vassilios Ferias, who gave the resources for the icon Christ Great Priest (1889), although it originates from another church in the region. The mentioned painters, who are three, date back to the ΧΙΧ c. The first one is Melchizedek who was from Ephesus and was a monk and Ex-Hegumenos (Prohegumenos) in the Monastery of Vatopaidi, and painted the icon of Synaxis of the Archangels (1825). The second painter is Demetrios from Enos who is the same person with the painter, who noted his name by the initials DM, and who painted the icon of St Spyridon with four life scenes (1856). The third one is Philippos A drianopoulitis (third quarter of ΧΙΧ c.), who is the author of the icon of Ascension of the prophet Elias (1857). It comes out information about the tinker’s craftsmen guild from the third quarter of the ΧΙΧ c., members of which, along with their families, contributed to the painting of the icon of st Spyridon with four life scenes (1856). Finally, the inscriptions inform about two deceased persons from ΧVIIΙ – third quart of the ΧΙΧ c., Anastassia Georgi (ΧVIIΙ-ΧΙΧ c.) and Demetrios Petkou Tachtzis (†1869).

  • Issue Year: 2016
  • Issue No: 3
  • Page Range: 52-58
  • Page Count: 7
  • Language: Bulgarian