Early Descriptions of the Zographou Monastery Cover Image
  • Price 3.90 €

Няколко стари описания на Зографския манастир
Early Descriptions of the Zographou Monastery

Author(s): Georgi Parpulov
Subject(s): Cultural history
Published by: Институт за изследване на изкуствата, Българска академия на науките

Summary/Abstract: The article contains annotated translations of the oldest known descriptions of the Zographou Monastery, those by Geron Isaiah of Chilandari (between 1489 and 1543), Abbot Joachim of the Athonite Pantaleimon Monastery (1560), the physician John Comnenus (1701), François Braconnier, S.J. (1708), and Hieromonk Hippolitus Vishenski of Chernigov/Chernihiv (1709). These little known texts supplement Barsky’s famous account of Mount Athos (1744) and provide a basis for reconstructing the old Zographou buildings (now entirely replaced by new structures erected between 1758 and 1893). Of particular interest is the architecture of the monastery’s old catholicon, which alone among pre­ eighteenth-century Athonite churches had a third eastern dome above its altar. This feature must have influenced the builders of the new Xeropotamou catholicon (1762-64), who introduced a similar dome into their design.

  • Issue Year: 2008
  • Issue No: 2
  • Page Range: 26-31
  • Page Count: 6